Call for Submissions! March 2 - July 10, 2018

2018 Design Awards

Celebrating innovation, creative-thinking, problem-solving, and sustainability in Hawaii
Hosted by the Hawaii Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects
2018 Design Awards Sponsors
Hawaii ASLA Celebrates Design Excellence

The 2018 Hawaii ASLA Design Awards recognize professional and academic excellence by honoring the firms, individuals, and agencies responsible for outstanding works of landscape architecture and environmental planning that promote an enhanced quality of life in Hawaii and beyond.

Submission Process

Hawaii ASLA will be accepting only digital submissions beginning in 2018. The online submission process includes three steps. All three steps must be completed online and submitted prior to the deadline,

July 10, 2018 at 11:59pm HST. Incomplete applications will not be considered for judging.

Step 1: Submission Form

Step 2: Upload Documents

Step 3: Submit Payment


Keep project submissions organized and download the 2018 Design Awards Worksheet PDF/DOC

Any individual, firm, agency or academic institution is eligible to enter, as long as one of the project’s primary participants meet one of the following classifications:

  1. For the categories of General Design, Residential Design, Analysis and Planning, the official entrant must be either an Associate, Full, or, International member, or eligible to join ASLA in one of those membership types. The non-member entry fee includes a one-year membership to ASLA. Non-members entering multiple projects may pay the non-member fee for the first entry and the member fee for any additional entries.

  2. The category of Research and Communication is open to non-professionals, but the official entrant must be either an Affiliate, Associate, Full, or, International member, or eligible to join ASLA in one of those membership types. The non-member entry fee includes a one-year membership to ASLA. Non-members entering multiple projects may pay the non-member fee for the first entry and the member fee for any additional entries.

  3. Project entry has not previously won a Hawaii Chapter award.

  4. Student General Design: must be a student currently enrolled at University of Hawaii School of Architecture.

Award Descriptions
  • Award of Excellence: One award of excellence may be selected in each category, if so determined by a unanimous vote of the jurors.

  • Honor Award: A maximum of one honor award will be given in each category for the most outstanding projects.

  • Merit Award: Any number of merit awards may be given in each category to recognize superior work.

  • Malama `Aina Award: See description and nomination information below

  • Po'okela Award: See description and nomination information below

Winning Entrants Receive:

  • Award certificates presented at the Design Awards Celebration in October 2018

  • Press releases sent to various local news media outlets

Design Awards Jury
Award Categories

All submissions will be reviewed by a jury selected by the Awards Committee. The jury will be composed of five to seven individuals and will be convened to consider entries in all categories and select the winners. Award Committee members will review each submittal in advance for compliance with entry requirements, completeness and anonymity. Submissions that do not fulfill all entry requirements will be rejected.

Category III – Analysis and Planning

Recognizes the wide variety of professional activities that lead to, guide or evaluate landscape architecture. Typical entries include: urban, suburban, rural, or regional planning efforts; development guidelines; transportation planning, town planning, or campus planning; plans for recovery or reclamation of brownfield sites; environmental planning in relation to legislative or policy initiatives or regulatory controls; cultural and natural resources protection, conservation, or historic preservation planning; and cultural resource reports.

Category I – General Design

Recognizes construction of site-specific works of landscape architectural design or urban design. Professional entries in the category must be built. For large incremental projects, at least the first stage must be constructed to be eligible for this award category. Typical entries include: communities and housing; urban design; streetscapes and public spaces; parks and recreational facilities; transportation corridors and facilities; historic preservation and restoration; commercial facilities; resorts; institutions and campus design; reclamation and conservation; landscape art and earth sculpture; and interior landscapes.

Category II – Residential Design

Recognizes site-specific works of landscape architecture for residential use. Professional entries in this category must be built. Typical entries include: single or multi-family residential projects; activity areas for cooking, entertaining, recreation, or relaxation; sustainable landscape applications; new construction or renovation projects; historic preservation, rehabilitation, or restoration; affordable landscape concepts and innovations; small site development; private gardens; and rooftop gardens.

Category IV – Research and Communication

Research: Recognizes research that identifies and investigates challenges posed in landscape architecture, providing results that advance the body of knowledge for the profession. Communication: Recognizes achievements in communicating landscape architecture works, techniques, technologies, history, or theory, and the lesson value to an intended audience. This category includes published or written documents, multimedia or electronic communications. Typical entries include: books, articles, videos, CDs and audio recordings on landscape architectural projects, history, art or technology; educational material intended for the non-technical consumer; material
that increases the awareness of landscape architectural design, environmental or conservation issues.

Category V – Student General Design

Recognizes the built and un-built work of graduate and undergradute students in the design of site-specific architecture, landscape architecture, and urban planning projects.

Malama `Aina Award

The Malama `Aina Award recognizes individuals or organizations outside the field of Landscape Architecture for distinctive efforts in promoting the preservation and enhancement of the landscape in Hawaii. 

Past recipients: Auwahi Forest Restoration project on Maui and the Friends of Honolulu Botanical Gardens, Mayor Jeremy Harris, The Outdoor Circle, Hawaii Community Develop Authority, Beatrice Krauss, Department of Land and Natural Resources, Kaulunani Urban Forestry Program, National Tropical Botanical Gardens (Chipper Wichman), the City Urban Forestry Division (Stan Oka).

Po'okela Award

This award means "striving for the best, commitment to excellence, champion, or pinnacle of excellence." This award recognizes local Landscape Architects who have made significant contributions and changed the way we look at landscape architecture. 

Past recipients: Catherine and Robert Thompson, Richard Tongg, James R. Bell, W. Frank Brandt, Juli M. Kimura Walters, George S. Walters, Paul Weissich, Tom Papandrew, and Raymond Cain.

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

Contact Us

© 2020 Hawaii ASLA