top of page
Student Design awards submission deadline extended until July 23, 2021

Professional Awards submission deadline ended July 9, 2021

2021 Design Awards

Celebrating innovation, creative thinking, problem solving, and sustainability in Hawaii
Hosted by the Hawaii Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects
Anchor 1
2021 Design Awards Sponsors
Exerplay logo.JPG
Tournesol_LogoRGB - white.jpg
Hawaii ASLA Celebrates Design Excellence

The 2021 Hawaii ASLA Design Awards recognize professional and academic excellence by honoring the firms, individuals, and agencies responsible for outstanding works of landscape architecture and environmental planning that promote an enhanced quality of life in Hawaii and beyond.

Submission Process

Hawaii ASLA will only be accepting digital submissions. The online submission process includes three steps.

All three steps must be completed online and submitted prior to the deadline,

July 9, 2021 at 11:59pm HST. Incomplete applications will not be considered for judging.

Step 1: Submission Form

Step 2: Upload Documents

Step 3: Submit Payment

2021 Design Awards

Hawaii ASLA

Call for Entries PDF

2021 Design Awards



Any individual, firm, agency, student, or academic institution are eligible to enter, as long as one of the project’s primary participants meets one of the following classifications:

1. ASLA Hawaii Chapter Fellow, Full Member, or Associate Member.

2. Other ASLA Chapter member and registered landscape architect in Hawaii.

3. Professional or Student that have not previous won a Hawaii ASLA chapter award for the project to be submitted.

4. Student General Design Category:

  • Current or former students enrolled in an academic pre-professional or professional landscape architecture program at a university located within the State of Hawaii.

  • Course work from the following semesters: Fall 2018, Spring 2019, Fall 2019, Spring 2020, Fall 2020, or Spring 2021

Award Descriptions
  • Award of Excellence: One award of excellence may be selected in each category, if so determined by a unanimous vote of the jurors.

  • Honor Award: A maximum of one honor award will be given in each category for the most outstanding projects.

  • Merit Award: Any number of merit awards may be given in each category to recognize superior work.

  • Malama Aina Award: See description and nomination information below

  • Po‘okela Award: See description and nomination information below

  • Kupukupu Award: See description and nomination information below


Winning Entrants Receive:

  • Award certificates presented at the Design Awards Celebration in October 2021

  • Press releases sent to various local news media outlets

Design Awards Jury

All submissions will be reviewed by a jury selected by the Awards Committee. The jury will be composed of five to seven individuals and will be convened to consider entries in all categories and select the winners. Award Committee members will review each submittal in advance for compliance with entry requirements, completeness and anonymity. Submissions that do not fulfill all entry requirements will be rejected.

Entry Fees

​Professional Entry Fees


$250 for Members of ASLA


$715* for non-Members of ASLA

(*Includes $385 National dues + $45 Chapter dues + $35 processing fee, and $250 entry fee. Additional entries will be $250 each.)

Student Entry Fees:


$30 for Student Members & Associate Members of ASLA


$50 for non-Members of ASLA

Award Categories
other awards
Malama Aina, Pookela, Kupukupu Awards
Malama Aina Award

The Malama `Aina Award recognizes individuals or organizations outside the field of Landscape Architecture for distinctive efforts in promoting the preservation and enhancement of the landscape in Hawaii. 

Past recipients: Auwahi Forest Restoration project on Maui and the Friends of Honolulu Botanical Gardens, Mayor Jeremy Harris, The Outdoor Circle, Hawaii Community Develop Authority, Beatrice Krauss, Department of Land and Natural Resources, Kaulunani Urban Forestry Program, National Tropical Botanical Gardens (Chipper Wichman), the City Urban Forestry Division (Stan Oka).

Kupukupu fern - Nephrolepsis cordifolia
Kupukupu Award

The Kupukupu Award is for emerging professionals. Kupu in Hawaiian means “Sprout, growth; offspring"; upstart, as one rising suddenly and conspicuously to high position. Kupukupu, like the native Hawaiian fern, is someone or something new and young that is breaking through the ground vertically.

The Kupukupu Award recognizes an individual showing promise of making contributions to the profession of landscape architecture through leadership, design, communication, and service. Nominee must be an ASLA Hawaii Chapter member and an emerging professional within their first five years of practice following graduation from either an undergraduate or graduate program.

Pookela Award

Pookela means "striving for the best, commitment to excellence, champion, or pinnacle of excellence." The Pookela Award recognizes local Landscape Architects who have made significant contributions and changed the way we look at landscape architecture. 

Past recipients: Catherine and Robert Thompson, Richard Tongg, James R. Bell, W. Frank Brandt, Juli M. Kimura Walters, George S. Walters, Paul Weissich, Tom Papandrew, and Raymond Cain.

bottom of page